New Books
Used & Rare
Featured Titles
What's New
Links About Us Map View Cart

Caldecott Medal Winners

The Caldecott Medal is a yearly award given to the best in children's literature

Beth Krommes
2009 The House in the Night Susan Marie Swanson
2008 The Invention of Hugo Cabret Brian Selznick
2007 Flotsam David Wiesner
2006 The Hello, Goodbye Window Norton Juster Chris Raschka
2005 Kitten's First Full Moon Kevin Henkes
2004 The Man Who Walked Between the Towers Mordicai Gerstein
2003 My Friend Rabbit Eric Rohmann
2002 The Three Pigs David Wiesner
2001 So You Want to Be President? Judith St. George David Small
2000 Joseph Had a Little Overcoat Simms Taback
1999 Snowflake Bentley Jacqueline Briggs Mary Azarian
1998 Rapunzel Paul O. Zelinsky
1997 Golem David Wisniewski
1996 Officer Buckle and Gloria Peggy Rathmann
1995 Smoky Night Eve Bunting David Diaz
1994 Grandfather's Journey Allen Say
1993 Mirette on the High Wire Emily Arnold McCully
1992 Tuesday David Wiesner
1991 Black and White David Macaulay
1990 Lon Po Po: A Red-Riding Hood Story from China Ed Young
1989 Song and Dance Man Karen Ackerman Stephen Gammell
1988 Owl Moon Jane Yolen John Schoenherr
1987 Hey, Al Arthur Yorinks Richard Egielski
1986 The Polar Express Chris Van Allsburg
1985 Saint George and the Dragon Margaret Hodges Trina Schart Hyman
1984 The Glorious Flight: Across the Channel with Louis Bleriot Alice & Martin Provensen
1983 Shadow Blaise Cendrars Marcia Brown (also translator)
1982 Jumanji Chris Van Allsburg
1981 Fables Arnold Lobel
1980 Ox-Cart Man Donald Hall Barbara Cooney
1979 The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses Paul Goble
1978 Noah's Ark Peter Spier
1977 Ashanti to Zulu: African Traditions Margaret Musgrove Leo & Diane Dillon
1976 Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears Verna Aardema Leo & Diane Dillon
1975 Arrow to the Sun Gerald McDermott
1974 Duffy and the Devil Harve Zemach Margot Zemach
1973 The Funny Little Woman Arlene Mosel Blair Lent
1972 One Fine Day Nonny Hogrogian
1971 A Story A Story Gail E. Haley
1970 Sylvester and the Magic Pebble William Steig
1969 The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship Arthur Ransome Uri Shulevitz
1968 Drummer Hoff Barbara Emberley Ed Emberley
1967 Sam, Bangs & Moonshine Evaline Ness
1966 Always Room for One More Sorche Nic Leodhas (Leclair Alger) Nonny Hogrogian
1965 May I Bring a Friend? Beatrice Schenk de Regniers Beni Montresor
1964 Where the Wild Things Are Maurice Sendak
1963 The Snowy Day Ezra Jack Keats
1962 Once a Mouse Marcia Brown
1961 Baboushka and the Three Kings Ruth Robbins Nicolas Sidjakov
1960 Nine Days to Christmas Marie Hall Ets and Aurora Labastida Marie Hall Ets
1959 Chanticleer and the Fox (adapted from Chaucer's Canterbury Tales) Barbara Cooney
1958 Time of Wonder Robert McCloskey
1957 A Tree Is Nice Janice Udry Marc Simont
1956 Frog Went A-Courtin' John Langstaff Feodor Rojankovsky
1955 Cinderella, or the Little Glass Slipper Charles Perrault Marcia Brown (also translator)
1954 Madeline's Rescue Ludwig Bemelmans
1953 The Biggest Bear Lynd Ward
1952 Finders Keepers Will (William Lipkind) Nicolas (Nicholas Mordvinoff)
1951 The Egg Tree Katherine Milhous
1950 Song of the Swallows Leo Politi
1949 The Big Snow Berta & Elmer Hader
1948 White Snow, Bright Snow Alvin Tresselt Roger Duvoisin
1947 The Little Island Golden MacDonald (Margaret Wise Brown) Leonard Weisgard
1946 The Rooster Crows Maude & Miska Petersham
1945 Prayer for a Child Rachel Field Elizabeth Orton Jones
1944 Many Moons James Thurber Louis Slobodkin
1943 The Little House Virginia Lee Burton
1942 Make Way for Ducklings Robert McCloskey
1941 They Were Strong and Good Robert Lawson
1940 Abraham Lincoln Ingri & Edgar Parin d'Aulaire
1939 Mei Li Thomas Handforth
1938 Animals of the Bible; A Picture Book Helen Dean Fish Dorothy P. Lathrop

Featured Books
More Book Lists
The Book Escape Home

Add a Grab Bag
View Your Shopping Cart